Hello? Is there anybody out there?

As a huge internet nerd, I love connecting with people on cyberspace. In fact, growing up, most of my friends were people I used to chat with online*. It’s awesome to be able to talk to someone from across the world who shares a common interest with you. I’ve got friends from the shadow casting community, the toy community, art, film… whatever I was interested in, there was a community online for me to join.

However, I’m finding lately that I’m severely lacking in wedding community love. Sure, there is Offbeat Bride, which is really awesome, but is that the only online community out there for a bride like me? I still keep in touch with old wedding Xanga buddies and people who used to blog for Weddingbee, but are there other places to reach out and find some support?  Share ideas? Seek advice when I don’t know what the hell I’m doing (which seems to be all the time)?

What are some of your favourite online wedding communities**?

 

* No, none of them were sketchy internet pedophiles. I did, in fact, meet a whole bunch of them in person throughout the years. Hell, Mr. Zombie was an internet buddy at first!

**  TheKnot.com and its countdown clock of doom doesn’t count. It still intimidates me…

3 Responses to “Hello? Is there anybody out there?”

  1. I love a Practical Wedding. Have you been to that blog? Unfortunately, there are no boards. How about Indie Bride?

  2. nightmarewedding Says:

    I’ve never been to that blog before! I should check it out.
    I have Indiebride in my bookmarks, but haven’t really explored it further. I got some really cool vow ideas on there though

  3. I’m in the same boat you are. I was so happy to find the Offbeat Bride because it was damn near impossible to find a wedding website that didn’t make me feel like a freakin’ leper.
    My Main Henchwoman (or Maid of Honor as some call it) unfortunatley insisted on checking out the dresses from David’s Bridal for her dress and the clerks looked at me like I was insane when I told them I didn’t care what she wore and that I wanted her to pick out the dress.
    And heaven forbid we ask our friends to dress up like zombies and crash the reception (actually, this is a surprise that only a few know about. My fiance works at a haunted house every October, so we have some awesome zombie friends willing to do this for us 😉 Yay!)
    I’ll be your wedding-idea friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

