Hair and tiny hats!

On the subject of styling my hair for the wedding, there were two things that I was absolutely adamant about:

1. Veils are a big no-no unless it is a birdcage veil in a colour that is NOT white.
2. A wedding is the best excuse to splurge on a mini hat.

Ah, the mini hat. Little top hats. Fascinators. Feathers. My weakness.  Being a huge fan of the Burlesque style, I grew quite the obsession with mini-hats and am constantly trying to find a perfect opportunity to wear them. When we first started planning the wedding, I was glued to Etsy in search for this wedding hat. You could even say that I was more OCD about it than my wedding dress. The first milliner I commissioned was Creepsuela, who had a great rep for making beautiful mini-top hats. However, the great hat/postage mishap of June 2009 nearly broke my heart and I thought I would never see the hat I had been dreaming of for nearly a year… but guess what? IT ARRIVED! …. but only after I had commissioned a second talented milliner, Bubbles and Frown to make me a wonderful little asymmetrical hat with a more true to Halloween aesthetic.

hat002

So now I have two wedding hats. Bubbles and Frown will be my ceremony and reception hat. Creepsuela will be my after party and Rocky hat. I am madly in love with both of them.

Now what to do for the hair? Originally, true to pin-up and burlesque fashion I was more drawn to soft curls that scream classic Hollywood glam. Unfortunately, from past experience, my hair is kind of a pain in the ass to deal with when it came to curls so I was concerned about how long it will last.

d2

Yea. I know. Another Dita Von Teese reference photo. I can’t help it if I want to be like her when I grow up!

My hair and makeup artist, Jenni Evil had a different vision in her mind, one that would compliment both Halloween and the wedding hats at the same time. She wanted to do a messy sort-of-up-do that, at least, in the way I saw it, channeled some Helena Bonham Carter circa Sweeney Todd.

helenahat

While an up-do wasn’t the first thing I had envisioned for my hair, I kept an open mind and let her experiment with my hair last night during my trial. What she came up with was so wonderfully loud and crazy that it was perfect!*

hattest2

hattest

Here is the trial hair with my Creepsuela hat. The photo doesn’t quite show the epic volume of poof that I actually had going on, but I love it! The lesson for today is: make sure you give your friendors some room to play, you never know what kind of awesome thing they will come up with that could even be better than your original idea!

*Well, almost. We realized at the end of the trial that the fancy sides-swept ponytail should have been placed on the other side to accommodate the shape of both hats and my partly shaved head. It’ll look more badass during the wedding!

Leave a Reply

