When it finally clicked

Mr. Zombie and I had been co-habitating very early on in our relationship. As a result, the leap from single to married life seemed almost non-existent. Everything still felt the same after we got married, so the concept of actually being married didn’t quite click in our heads right away. It didn’t quite click to me specifically until a few days into our honeymoon, when an unfortunate accident led me to realize, “Sweet Zombie Jebus… I really am married!”

IMG_3903

It all started with a bubble bath. Our room at the B&B came with a large hot tub complete with massage jets. Having only a stand-up shower in our loft at home, having access to a bath tub was a huge luxury for Mr. Zombie and I. We really took advantage of it by hopping in the tub at least twice a day, every day. On a quiet Tuesday evening, I had been particularly glued to my iPhone, tweeting away my honeymoon bliss and talking to a friend of mine from Toronto through Ping. I left my phone on a face cloth beside the tub and hopped in. After a half hour cooking in the hot water, I hopped back out since I started to feel light-headed. I left the phone beside the tub. Mr. Zombie, who was also starting to feel quite faint from the hot water decided that he was going to soak a face cloth with cold water and rest it on his forehead while he sat in the tub for longer. So… there he was… reaching for the face cloth, not noticing that my iPhone was sitting on top of it.

SPLASH! Goes my iPhone.

To anyone who owns an iPhone, you would understand how horrific this situation was. We desperately blow dried the phone, sifted through Apple forums and whispered sweet-nothings to it in a lame attempt to revive it. Alas, my phone did not survive its bath.

The next morning, we high tailed to the nearby Apple Store to get my phone fixed at the Genius Bar. Mr. Zombie had set up an appointment for me the night prior. We stood in front the Genius Bar and checked out the screen to see where we stood in the cue. I looked for my name. “Miss Zombie. There is no Miss Zombie…. but who the hell is Mrs. Zombie?”

“That’s you. Mrs. Zombie,” Mr. Zombie said.

“Oh, right. We’re married now.” It finally clicked.

IMG_3913

My iPhone was replaced after paying my “I’m a moron” penalty fee. I also signed a form with my brand spankin’ new married signature. We were so excited about this momentous occasion that we had to play tourist and take a photo.

So there you have it: it all finally clicked in the middle of the Apple Store in Montreal. I suppose that given the geek factor, this was probably the most appropriate situation for everything to sink in.

I’m now Mrs. Zombie!

Leave a Reply

